Acropolis Rally - 4th Day: Rovanpera takes his second Acropolis win, Evans up to 2nd

At the end of the final day of Acropolis Rally, Kalle Rovanpera takes his second win in Greece since 2021 with Elfyn Evans and Dani Sordo finishing behind him.

Kalle Rovanpera is the winner of this year's Acropolis Rally and took the lead after Thierry Neuville's retirement and Sebastien Ogier's problems in SS10 and SS12 respectively. The Finn driver did not push on the first two stages of Sunday as his gap from his teammate Elfyn Evans was over one minute, but he scored the five points in Powerstage as he was the quickest driver in PS.

Elfyn Evans does the 1-2 for Toyota and remains at the fight for this year's title after his second place in Greece. The Welshman overtook Dani Sordo on the overall classification at the end of Stage 13 as he was the fastest driver there. Last but not least, it must be mentioned that he took the four bonus points in PS.

Dani Sordo completes the podium as he dropped to third overall after the end of SS13 while he set the fastest time in SS14 resulting in reducing his gap from 4 to 2,7 seconds.

Ott Tanak finished fourth overall and gained 18 places totally since his time penalty on Friday morning. Moreover, he was the third-fastest driver in PS and scored three points there while Evans beat Tanak for 0,1 seconds in PS.

Esapekka Lappi hoped for a better result in Greece than the fifth position, but he and Sordo gave valuable points to Hyundai for the manufacturers' championship.

Takamoto Katsuta finished behind EP and had an overshoot at the beginning of Stage 14.

Sebastien Ogier and Thierry Neuville restarted today under the regulations of Super Rally after their retirements on Saturday afternoon.

Ogier started the final day of Acropolis Rally from ninth place, but he dropped to twelfth due to the fact that he received a two-minute time penalty for breaching the safety regulations in Stage 12. After the end of Powerstage, Ogier completes the top ten.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Acropolis Rally:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post