Rally Monza - 3rd Day: Ogier seals Monza win and eighth title in WRC, Toyota wins the manufacturer title

At the end of the third day, Sebastien Ogier wins Rally Monza in style clinching his eighth title in WRC with Toyota becoming the Manufacturer World Rally Champion of 2021.

Sebastien Ogier is the big winner of Rally Monza and he secured his eighth title in WRC by increasing his gap from Evans today. However, he clipped a concrete chicane with the front right wheel in Stage 14 and there was a big chunk out of the wheel at the end of this stage. Finally, he was the fourth fastest driver in Powerstage taking the two extra points from it.

Elfyn Evans finished second overall and he lost the battle for this year's title as he headed to Monza with a 17-point disadvantage over Ogier. Moreover, he locked up the brakes in Stage 15 and he could not get the car turned resulting in going into the bales and stalling his car. In this stage, he stalled one more time and he dropped 16,8 seconds there. Finally, he scored only one point in Powerstage as he was the fifth fastest driver in this stage.

Dani Sordo completes the podium positions and he was careful today with the intention of securing the third position overall. He was the third fastest driver in Powerstage and took the three extra points from it.

Thierry Neuville finished in fourth position overall and he was trying to catch his teammate, Sordo, today. He set the fastest times in Stage 14, 15 and 16 scoring the five extra points in Powerstage.

Oliver Solberg completes the top five and he did a mistake as he touched one barrier on a chicane of Stage 14.

Teemu Suninen climbed to sixth from seventh position overall in his debut with the i20 Rally1 car.

Takamoto Katsuta dropped to seventh position overall losing one minute in Stage 15 as he spun into a chicane and he buckled the front left wheel. It must be mentioned that Toyota mechanics managed to fix his Yaris before the start of Powerstage with the Service time having been 15 minutes. Moreover, he set the second fastest time in Powerstage and he secured four extra points for the championship.

Gus Greensmith finished eighth and he had a spin under braking in Stage 15 hitting a hay bale chicane. However, his gap from seventh Katsuta was at 15,7 seconds.

Kalle Rovanpera remained in ninth position overall following Toyota's instructions for this event. He dropped 18 seconds in the last stage of Rally Monza as he had spin there.

Adrien Fourmaux finished outside the top ten and he set the fifth fastest time in Stage 15.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of the race:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post