Rally Sardinia - 4th Day: Tanak takes Hyundai first ever win in hybrid era

At the end of the final day, Ott Tanak is the big winner of Rally Italia Sardegna with Craig Breen and Dani Sordo following him.

Ott Tanak takes his and Hyundai's first win of the season in Sardinia after the dominant performance he showed all weekend. He was the fastest driver in Stage 18 and 20.

Craig Breen finished second overall and was not able to fight for the victory as his gap from Tanak is over a minute.

Dani Sordo completes the podium and was too careful today resulting in not continuing his fight with Breen for the second position.

Pierre-Louis Loubet finished in fourth position overall and this result is the best result that he has ever achieved in his WRC career so far.

Kalle Rovanpera completes the top five and fifth place was the best result that he could achieve in Sardinia considering his road position on Friday. He was the second fastest driver in Powerstage and score four extra points for the championship.

Takamoto Katsuta follows his teammate on the overall classification and did not push too much today while he took only one point from Powerstage.

Gus Greensmith remained in seventh position overall as his gap from Katsuta was over a minute.

Nikolay Gryazin, Jan Solans and Jari Huttunen complete the top ten. 

Elfyn Evans, Thierry Neuville and Esapekka Lappi restarted on the final day of the race under the regulations of Rally2. 

Evans and Lappi scored three and two points in Powerstage respectively.

Neuville was the fastest driver in Stage 19 while he drove slowly throughout Stage 20 with the intention of saving his tyres for Powerstage. Finally, he scored five points in Powerstage as set the fastest time there.

Adrien Fourmaux did not restart today under the regulations of Rally2 as M-Sport Ford wanted to give him a proper car for Safari Rally Kenya.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally Sardinia:

Photo Credits: Hyundai

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post