Acropolis Rally - 4th Day: Neuville seals his first win of the season, Evans retires

At the end of the final day of Acropolis Rally, Thierry Neuville wins in Greece with Ott Tanak and Dani Sordo following him.

Thierry Neuville took his first victory of the season in Greece and was the fastest driver in Stage 15, but he scored zero points in PS. The Belgian driver dropped 14,3 seconds in PS which means that his gap from Tanak was reduced to 15 seconds.

Ott Tanak remains second overall and was pushing today to take the win from his teammate. He set the fastest time in Stage 14 and 16, so he took five extra points from Powerstage.

Dani Sordo completes the podium and the 1-2-3 for Hyundai Motorsport. The Spaniard backed off his pace today after Evans's retirement.

Pierre-Louis Loubet finished in fourth place overall and this result is his best personnel in WRC. It must be mentioned that he was leading Acropolis Rally at the end of Friday morning while he was second at the end of Friday.

Craig Breen completes the top five and is the best M-Sport driver as he scored valuable points for his team (Loubet cannot score points for M-Sport). Moreover, he scored three extra points in PS.

Takamoto Katsuta finished sixth overall and once again he managed to be inside the top six finishers. However, he hit something with the rear right of his Yaris resulting in suffering from a puncture in Powerstage. According to him, he was distracted and ran wide as he was looking down to the dashboard after facing an issue with his Yaris before the start of PS.

Esapekka Lappi and Gus Greensmith restarted today under the regulations of Rally2, therefore are outside the top 10 after taking time penalties. 

Kalle Rovanpera remained outside the top ten, but he was the second best driver in PS, so he scored 4 points in Greece.

Elfyn Evans retired on the road section before the start of Stage 14 due to turbo problems with his Yaris. Despite the fact that he was trying to fix them, he would start 10-minute late in Stage 14 resulting in taking time penalty. However, Toyota confirmed that he and Scott Martin will not continue. They were in fourth position overall at the end of Saturday and would fight against Dani Sordo for the lowest place of the podium.

Emil Lindholm finished seventh on the overall classification and is the winner in WRC2 class.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Acropolis Rally:

Photo Credits: Hyundai

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post