Rally Spain - 3rd Day: Ogier takes his first win of the season as drama hit three drivers

At the end of the final day, Sebastien Ogier wins Rally Spain of 2022 with Thierry Neuville and Kalle Rovanpera completing the podium.

Sebastien Ogier takes his first victory in hybrid era and was managing his lead today over his two rivals. He set the fastest time in Stage 18 and 19 taking the 5 bonus points from PS.

Thierry Neuville finished second overall and was the fastest driver in Stage 17. However, he said that he had understeer in the first two stages of Sunday, but he managed to defend his place over the third Kalle Rovanpera. In addition to that, he was the second fastest driver in PS, therefore he scored four extra points from it.

The 2022 WRC Champion completes the podium and was not able to fight for the second place after suffering from a front left puncture in Stage 17 which had as result to drop 13,2 seconds there. However, his gap from Neuville was at 1,5 seconds before the start of SS17. Finally, he took three bonus points in PS.

Ott Tanak remained in fourth place overall and was far behind the third Rovanpera as their gap is at 9,5 seconds. He scored only two points in PS as he set the fourth fastest time there.

Dani Sordo completes the top five and claimed another stage win in his home event as he was the fastest driver in Stage 16.

Elfyn Evans follows the Spaniard driver for 34,6 seconds and dropped even more behind after the front left puncture he had in Stage 17. He lost 21,2 seconds in that stage due to that puncture.

Takamoto Katsuta climbed to seventh position overall taking advantage of Craig Breen's puncture in SS17.

Adrien Fourmaux, Craig Breen and Pierre-Louis Loubet complete the top ten.

Breen dropped to ninth from seventh place at the end of SS17 as he suffered from a front left puncture after understeering wide on a right-hander and hitting hard a bank. He lost 59,2 seconds there

Fourmaux had a moment in SS17 as he understeered into an armco barrier on a left-hander bend.

Gus Greensmith restarted today under the regulations of Rally after his crash in Stage 11 on Saturday morning and finished outside the top ten.

Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT is the WRC Manufacturer Champion of 2022! 

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally Spain:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post