Rally Japan - 4th Day: Neuville wins at Toyota's soil as Evans drops to fifth

At the end of the final day, Thierry Neuville is the winner of Rally Japan with Ott Tanak and Takamoto Katsuta following him.

Thierry Neuville secures his second win of the season in Japan and stayed out of trouble on Sunday despite the rain. He was the fastest driver in Stage 16 and took a breath after what happened to Elfyn Evans in this stage. However, despite his win in Japan, he remains third overall on the drivers' championship.

Ott Tanak completes the 1-2 for Hyundai and finished his collaboration with the Korean team in style. The Estonian finished second on the drivers' championship this year and managed to keep his teammate Neuville behind.

Takamoto Katsuta completes the podium in his home event despite the fact that he arrived at the stop line of Stage 18 with a rear left puncture. He lost 55,3 seconds in that stage.

Sebastien Ogier finished in fourth place overall and set the fastest time in Stage 17. Despite the fact that his teammate Katsuta was slower than him in these stages, the Japanese driver managed to finish ahead of Ogier for 12,3 seconds.

Elfyn Evans started the final day of Rally Japan in a positive way as he was the fastest driver in Stage 15 and reduced his gap from the leader Neuville at 0,6 seconds at the end of SS15, but he dropped to fourth place at the end of SS16 as he stopped 9.9 Km into Stage 16 to change a puncture after running wide in a right-hander. He dropped more than one minute there. In addition to that, he dropped over two minutes in Stage 18 as he struggled with the hard tyres in the rain resulting in slipping behind Ogier at the end of SS17 and finished in fifth place. 2022 is the first year for the Welshman that he did take a win in a season.

Gus Greensmith remained sixth overall and set the third fastest time on the penultimate stage of the rally.

Kalle Rovanpera finished twelfth overall and was trying some new things on his Yaris for the next season.

Craig Breen is outside the top ten, but was the fastest driver in Stage 18 and 19 taking the five extra points in Powerstage.

Emil Lindholm lost the win of Rally Japan over Gregoire Munster in Powerstage, bit he is the WRC2 Champion for this season.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally Japan:

Photo Credits: Hyundai

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post