Rally Finland - 4th Day: Evans claims his 2nd victory of the season, Katsuta beats Suninen for 3rd place

At the end of Sunday, Elfyn Evans takes a dominant victory at Rally Finland with Thierry Neuville and Takamoto Katsuta following him.

Elfyn Evans wins Rally Finland for a second time in his WRC career and was fastest again today as he set the pace in SS19 and SS21. Finally, he was the fastest driver in PS and scored the maximum points in Finland.

Thierry Neuville remained in second place overall and could not catch Evans as their gap was at 39,1 seconds. However, he was the second-fastest driver in PS and scored four extra points for the championship.

Takamoto Katsuta completes the 1-3 for Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT and claimed his second stage win of Rally Finland as he was the quickest driver in SS20.

Teemu Suninen lost the battle for the lowest place of the podium and finished behind Katsuta for 4,3 seconds, but he managed to take the 3 bonus points from PS. The Finn driver was still fighting with the rear of his i20N and carried no spare wheel with the view of decreasing the weight of his car. In addition to that, he ran wide on a left-hander in SS20 and pitched his i20N up onto the two wheels.

Jari-Matti Latvala secured a top five finish as his fifth place was not under threat while he had a moment on a left-hander in Stage 20. Finally, he took one extra point in PS as he was the fifth-fastest driver on the final stage of Rally Finland.

Pierre-Louis Loubet remains outside the top ten and reported a problem with his Puma at the end of SS19. Moreover, he completed Stage 20 at low speed which means that his car carried an engine issue. He revealed at the end of Powerstage that his Puma had an engine issue since Saturday and was losing power.

Sami Pajari is the winner in WRC2 class and left Adrien Fourmaux and Nikolay Gryazin behind.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch the overall classification after the end of Rally Finland:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post