Acropolis Rally Greece - 4th Day: Rovanpera wins for a second time in 2021

At the end of Acropolis Rally Greece, Kalle Rovanpera is the winner of this year's event with Ott Tanak and Sebastien Ogier completing the podium.

Kalle Rovanpera takes a comfortable win in Greece and this is win is the second in his WRC career and for this season. He set the fastest time on Stage 13 and his gap from the second Tanak is at 42,1 seconds. Finaly, he was the fastest driver in Powerstage and he scored five extra points for the driver's championship.

Ott Tanak finished second overall and he managed his margin today from the third Ogier as the first one reported some electrical issues in his i20 after the end of stage 13 while he said after SS14 that he had had no visibility due to the fact that he had no control of the wipers from Stage 13. It must be mentioned that Tanak was the fastest driver on Stage 14, but he dropped time on Powerstage as he mentioned an issue with his car and there was a lot of smoke from the exhaust.

Sebastien Ogier completes the podium and he dropped time on Stage 13 as he was not happy with his tyre choice, but he set the third fastest time in PS and he scored three extra points.

Dani Sordo remained fourth overall as his gap from the third place was over one minute. However, he mentioned at the end of Powerstage that he did wrong pace notes for this event.

Gus Greensmith stole the fifth position from his teammate, Adrien Fourmaux, after the end of Stage 13 as the last one faced some problems with his car.

Elfyn Evans finished sixth after the gearbox issue he had on Friday and he was second fastest driver in PS, so he took four extra points from it.

Adrien Foourmaux dropped to seventh from fifth position, because he has not started Stage 13 on his scheduled time due to the fact that he had an engine issue on the road section before the start of that stage and he tried to fix his car. He received a 3-minute time penalty as he started the Stage 13 with a 18-minute delay while he had a spin on Stage 15, so he lost the sixth position from Evans.

Thierry Neuville is in eight position overall and he hit trouble as his car could not have restarted after the tyre fitting zone before the start of Stage 14 and he was working on his i20. Also, he took only two extra points from Powerstage as he set the fourth fastest time there.

Andreas Mikkelsen is the winner of Acropolis Rally Greece in WRC2 category and he secured his third win this season.

About the tyre choices, Ogier and Greensmith took with them 2 hard and 3 soft compounds while Fourmaux, Evans and Rovanpera took with them 3 hard and 2 soft compounds. Moreover, Neuville and Tanak chose five soft compounds while their teammate, Sordo, chose six compounds. Finaly, Loubet chose 2 hard and 4 soft tyres.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification at the end of race:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post