Rallye Monte Carlo - 4th Day: Loeb takes eighth Monte win as late drama strikes Ogier

At the end of Rallye Monte Carlo, Sebastien Loeb is the first driver who wins in hybrid era with Sebastien Ogier and Craig Breen completing the top three.

Sebastien Loeb finished in the highest place of the podium being consistent throughout the weekend. He was the fastest driver in Stage 14 and 16 while he scored two points in Powerstage.

Sebastien Ogier dropped one place at the end of Stage 16 and finished second. In the penultimate stage of Rallye Monte Carlo, he dropped more than 30 minutes as he suffered from a front right puncture. In addition, he received a 10-second time penalty for jump start in Stage 17, but he scored only one point in Powerstage following his time penalty despite the fact that he set the fastest benchmark there. Finally, he said at the end of Stage 17 that he heard a weird engine sound before the start of the final stage of the event.

Craig Breen completes the podium, but he did not score any points in Powerstage.

Kalle Rovanpera finished fourth overall and he was the fastest driver in PS, so he scored five extra points for the drivers' championship.

Gus Greensmith completes the top five and he was the second fastest driver in SS16.

Thierry Neuville remained in sixth position overall and he reported a problem with the rear diff after the end of Stage 15. However, he was the fastest driver in Stage 16 and this was the first stage win for Hyundai in hybrid era. In Powerstage, he set the third fastest time, so he scored three points.

Takamoto Katsuta is eighth overall behind Andreas Mikkelsen who is the winner in WRC2 category and finished seventh in the overall classification.

Elfyn Evans finished outside the top ten and dropped more than two minutes in Stage 15 as he stopped to change the front right wheel after suffering from a puncture. He was the second fastest driver in Powerstage and scored four points for drivers' championship.

Oliver Solberg was forced to retire after the end of Stage 14 as he and his co-driver, Elliott Edmondson, did not feel well after the fuel fumes they had inside their car during all the weekend.

Ott Tanak did not restart today under the regulations of Rally2 as Hyundai mechanics detected an issue in his i20N.

About tyre choices, Katsuta and Evans chose five soft tyres while Neuville and Solberg picked up 4 soft and 2 super-soft tyres. Ogier, Loeb, Greensmith, Breen and Rovanpera chose six soft compound tyres.

Watch below the stage times: 

Watch below the overall classification after the race: 

Photo Credits: M-Sport

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post