Rally de Portugal - 3rd Day - 2nd Loop: Rovanpera moves ahead of Evans in the rain, Ogier out again

At the end of the third day of Rally de Portugal, Kalle Rovanpera steals the lead of Rally de Portugal from Elfyn Evans with Takamoto Katsuta following them.

Kalle Rovanpera is the new leader of Rally de Portugal at the end of Saturday as he was the fastest driver in Stage 13, 14 and 16.

Elfyn Evans dropped to second position overall as he struggled to find pace on the rainy stages. His gap from Rovanpera is at 5,7 seconds.

Takamoto Katsuta remains third and extended his advantage over the fourth Dani Sordo who is now 5,7 seconds behind the Japanese driver.

Thierry Neuville completes the top five and set the fastest time in Stage 15 meaning that he was the first Hyundai driver who won a stage in Portugal.

Craig Breen is now sixth and is not chasing the fifth place as he is over a minute behind Neuville.

Pierre-Louis Loubet is in seventh position overall and faced a problem with the windscreen wipers during Stage 15 resulting in dropping more than one minute.

Ott Tanak, Adrien Fourmaux and Teemu Suninen complete the top ten.

Gus Greensmith was forced to retire before the start of Stage 14 due to a suspension damage and was not able to fix it. However, he clouted a banking with the rear right of his Puma in Stage 13 and arrived at the stop control with a damaged wheel arm. 

Sebastien Ogier was forced to retire before the start of the afternoon loop as Toyota decided to repair his Yaris for Sunday. 

Watch below the stage times:

Watch the overall classification after SS16:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post