Rally de Portugal - 4th Day: Rovanpera scores a masterclass win, Sordo third

At the end of the final day, Kalle Rovanpera is the winner of Rally de Portugal with Elfyn Evans and Dani Sordo following him.

Kalle Rovanpera finished in the highest place of the podium in Portugal and won for a third time this season extending his advantage over his rivals on the driver's championship. Moreover, he was the fastest driver in Stage 17 and 20 while he scored five extra points for the championship as he was fastest in Powerstage.

Elfyn Evans finished second overall and fought back from the lead as he was faster than his teammate in Stage 18 and 19, but this was not enough to win the fourth round of this year's championship. Finally, he scored only one point in PS.

Dani Sordo completes the podium and fought hard for the third place of the race with Takamoto Katsuta. He was the second fastest driver in Powerstage, therefore he scored four extra points.

Takamoto Katsuta dropped one place and finished fourth meaning that he did not claim his second podium in his WRC career. He lost the podium for 2,1 seconds.

Thierry Neuville completes the top five and said at the end of Stage 19 that he had lost the front splitter in Stage 17 resulting in losing a bit of the aerodynamics in the fast sections. Also, he took three extra points from Powerstage as he set the third fastest time there.

Ott Tanak is sixth overall and set the fastest time in Stage 18 and 19, therefore climbed two places on the overall classification, but he scored only two extra points in PS.

Pierre-Louis Loubet remained in seventh position and his target was just to finish in Portugal despite the steering wheel and brake issues he faced today.

Craig Breen, Adrien Fourmaux and Yohan Rossel complete the top ten.

Breen dropped two places at the end of Stage 20 and finished eighth as he faced a mechanical issue with his Puma, therefore he handed a 50-second time penalty for checking late at the start control of SS20. Also, he reported brake issues with his car.

Sebastien Ogier and Gus Greensmith restarted on Sunday under the regulations of Rally2.

Sebastien Loeb was forced to retire after a techical issue he faced with his Puma on Saturday.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch the overall classification after the end of Rally Portugal:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post