Lefebvre keeps WRC2 win in Ypres despite Mikkelsen's protest

The stewards of Ypres Rally Belgium decided to give two time-penalties to Stephane Lefebvre for breaching the sporting regulations after Andreas Mikkelsen decided to protest against his rival.

More specifically, Mikkelsen sent onboard videos to stewards as an evidence that Lefebvre did not pass correctly the stages 11 and 15 and might gain advantage from his actions.

The French driver was driving with the four wheels off the road during Stage 11 and 15 and said to the stewards that his actions were to keep a safe line as there were many dirty parts on the road. In addition to that, he said that many WRC drivers did the same during their passes from the stages, so he thought that there would be any problem to do that.

The stewards heard the two parties and decided to give 15-second time penalty in total to Lefebvre for his actions (10 seconds for SS11 and 5 seconds for SS15), but he still remains the WRC2 winner of Ypres Rally as his gap from Mikkelsen was at 18,1 seconds at the end of Powerstage. After his receiving the two time-penalties, their gap is now at 3,1 seconds.

Read below the stewards' decisions:

Photo Credits: Red Bull Content Pool


  1. Lost all respect for Mikkelsen, that is really low


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post