Rally New Zealand - 4th Day: Rovanpera wins and becomes the youngest ever WRC champion

At the end of the final day of Rally New Zealand, Kalle Rovanpera is the winner of this iconic event with Sebastien Ogier and Ott Tanak following him.

Kalle Rovanpera is the winner of Rally New Zealand which returned to WRC calendar after a 10-year absence. He was the fastest driver in Stage 16 and 17 meaning that he scored the 5 bonus points and is the 2022 World Rally Driver Championship.

Sebastien Ogier completes the 1-2 for Toyota and did win as he wished before the start of Rally New Zealand as he finished second again twelve years ago. The Frenchman set the fastest time on the penultimate stage of the rally while he took three extra points from PS.

Ott Tanak completes the podium and was the fastest driver in Stage 16 and lost the five bonus Powerstage points from Rovanpera for 0,6 seconds.

Thierry Neuville remains fourth overall and took only one point from Powerstage.

Oliver Solberg completes the 3-4-5 for Hyundai Motorsport and was happy with his i20N on Sunday.

Hayden Paddon finished in sixth place overall and is the winner in WRC2 class.

Craig Breen finished outside the top ten and suffered from a left rear puncture on the final stage of Rally New Zealand.

Elfyn Evans, Takamoto Katsuta and Gus Greensmith did not restart today under the regulations of Rally after the crashes they had on Saturday.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally New Zealand:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post