Rally Mexico - 4th Day: Neuville steals Evans's 2nd place in PS as Ogier scores a record win again in 2023

At the end of the final day, Sebastien Ogier is the winner of Rally Mexico with Thierry Neuville and Elfyn Evans completing the top three.

Sebastien Ogier takes his second victory of the season and overtook his compatriot Sebastien Loeb as he won Rally Mexico for a seventh time in his career. He built a comfortable lead after Saturday and he was managing it throughout the Sunday stages. Apart from the 25 points he scored from this rally, he was the fastest driver in Powerstage meaning that he took the five extra points from that stage.

Thierry Neuville climbed to second overall after Powerstage and started his day in a positive way as he was the fastest driver in SS20 and SS22 while he scored three extra points in PS.

Elfyn Evans completes the podium and fought hard against Neuville to keep his second place, but eventually he finished four tenths of a second behind the Hyundai driver. Despite the fact that he was the fastest driver in Stage 21 and increased his gap to 5,8 seconds after that stage, the Belgian responded back in the last two stages. Last but not least, it must be mentioned that Evans carried an issue with the suspension of his Yaris as Neuville revealed at the end of SS22 and the first one managed to repair a nursing bent steering arm before the start of PS.

Kalle Rovanpera finished fourth overall and was not able to catch Neuville as their gap was over one minute. However, he was pushing very hard in Powerstage resulting in going a little wide and causing a light damage to the rear spoiler.

Dani Sordo completes the top five and dropped some seconds in SS20 as he ran wide on the second corner of the stage and stalled the engine of his i20N.

Ott Tanak gained two positions and finished ninth overall, but he dropped 46,5 seconds in SS21 due to the fact that the front damper was empty of oil. He is relieved that his weekend is over after the turbo issues he faced on Friday, but the positive thing is that he scored four extra points in PS.

Takamoto Katsuta remains outside the top ten while Pierre-Louis Loubet restarted today under the regulations of Rally2. The M-Sport driver went out in SS20, but he managed to get going again, while he suffered from a front left puncture which happened after a narrow part on a compression in a very slow corner of SS21.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally Mexico:

Photo Credits: Toyota

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post