Rally Sweden - 4th Day: Lappi takes his 2nd WRC win after 7 years, Fourmaux down to 3rd

At the end of the final day, Esapekka Lappi is the winner of this year's Rally Sweden with Elfyn Evans and Adrien Fourmaux completing the podium.

Esapekka Lappi delivers a second consecutive victory to Hyundai and claims his second victory in World Rally Championship since the Rally Finland of 2017. The Finn scored 19 points totally (18 points from Saturday and one point from Sunday) and did not push so much today as his intention was to finish the rally.

Elfyn Evans moved ahead of Adrien Fourmaux for five seconds at the end of Stage 16 and was the fastest driver in Stage 17. He was very close to take the five bonus points from Powerstage as he was the fastest driver on the splits, but he lost some seconds after his hitting twice a snowbank. Finally, he was the top driver on the Sunday classification and scored seven points because of this.

Fourmaux takes his maiden podium in World Rally Championship and lost his second place today as he did not want to take unnecessary risks, thus he slowed down his pace. In addition to that, he had no good feeling in the stages and his job was done as he took the 15 points since he finished second on the classification of Saturday.

Thierry Neuville remained in fourth place overall and was still struggling with his i20N as there was risk of understeer today. He was at the limit in Powerstage and lost the rear wing and the most of the back-end of his car in the stage after a jump.

Oliver Solberg completes the top five and was the winner of Rally Sweden in WRC2 class for a second consecutive year.

Lorenzo Bertelli finished tenth with the Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 as a privateer.

Gregoire Munster, Ott Tanak and Kalle Rovanpera are outside the top ten.

The #2 driver of M-Sport Ford tried to push in Stage 17 to gain more experience, but he overshot a junction and stalled his Puma.

Tanak was not able to match the pace of his rivals and to top the Sunday classification as he said at the end of SS16 that his i20N was switching from understeer to oversteer.

Rovanpera was the fastest driver in Stage 16, but he backed off in Stage 17 due to the fact that he wanted to help Evans to top the Sunday classification and his goal was to score the five bonus points in Powerstage for Toyota. He managed to be the fastest driver in Stage 16 and 18 while he beat Evans for 0,1 seconds in PS.

Takamoto Katsuta restarted today under the SuperRally regulations and was very close to dig his Yaris into a snowbank in Stage 17 as he lost the front and spun.

Watch below the stage times:

Watch below the overall classification after the end of Rally Sweden:

Photo Credits: Hyundai

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post